After Algeria, EU removes Morocco from list of safe countries

European Union also removes Morocco from its list of safe countries concerning the Covid-19, after more than a week of removing Algeria. The list of whose nationals are authorized to travel to Europe is published on the EU official site.

The European Union has removed Morocco from its list of safe countries, updated on Saturday (8 August), due to the resurgence of the disease in recent weeks, a statement published on its official website said.

Two African countries on the list

Thus, only two countries in Africa, Rwanda and Tunisia, remain among the safe countries.

‘On the basis of the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation [on the gradual lifting of temporary travel restrictions, editor’s note], from 8 August, Member States should gradually lift restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity).’

Furthermore, the European Union specifies that “residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican should be considered as residents of the EU for the purposes of this recommendation”.

A list of 11 countries

This list will continue to be revised and, if necessary, updated every two weeks, the statement explains.

Thus, the European Union withdrew Algeria, Montenegro, Morocco, and Serbia from its list of 15 safe countries established at the beginning of July, to keep only 11.

This Monday, 10 August, the Moroccan Ministry of Health reported 826 new cases of contamination. He said the total number of confirmed cases since the onset of the disease stood at 34,063, including 516 deaths and 24,524 recoveries.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button


Your browser could not load this page, use Chrome browser or disable AdBlock