2019 CAF Awards: Here is the complete list of finalists

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has published the list of 10 finalists of the 2019 CAF award for the title of “Player of the Year”. The list is released from the first 30 nominees at the start.

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah won the award ahead of Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang last year. The three are still in the top 10 of the 2019 CAF Award.

The CAF has also pre-selected candidates for its other categories. The list of short-listed candidates was drawn up by a technical and development committee of the CAF and a group of media experts, who voted in favor.

The vote for the African Player of the Year, as well as the men’s and women’s coach of the year, will be made by the coaches or technical directors and the captains of the senior national teams of the CAF member associations.

The Interclub Player of the Year will be nominated by the leading coaches and masters of the group phase of the current continental African club competitions. The winners will be announced at the CAF awards ceremony on 7 January in the Egyptian resort of Hurghada.

Here is the complete list of finalists (in alphabetical order) Male Player of the Year:

  • Andre Onana (Cameroon and Ajax)
  • Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Ajax)
  • Ismail Bennacer (Algeria and AC Milan)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal and Napoli)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
  • Odion Ighalo (Nigeria and Shanghai Shenhua)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Arsenal)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)
  • Youcef Belaili (Algeria and Al Ahli Jeddah)

African player of the year:

  • Ajara Nchout (Cameroon and Valerenga)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Barcelona)
  • Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon and CSKA Moscow)
  • Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi and Jiangsu Suning)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa and Beijing Phoenix FC)

African Player Interclubs of the Year:

  • Anice Badri (Tunisia and Esperance)
  • Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo and Renaissance Berkane/Al Ain)
  • Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia and Esperance)
  • Tarek Hamed (Egypt and Zamalek)
  • Youcef Belaïli (Algeria and Esperance/Al Ahli Jeddah)

Best Hope of the Year:

  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Borussia Dortmund)
  • Krépin Diatta (Senegal and Club Brugge)
  • Moussa Djenepo (Mali and Southampton)
  • Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria and Villarreal)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and Lille)

Coach of the Year (Masculin):

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
  • Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)
  • Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
  • Monk Chaabani (Tunisia – Esperance)
  • Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)

Coach of the Year (Feminine):

  • Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
  • Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
  • Clementine Toure (Ivory Coast)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

National Men’s Team of the Year:

  • Algeria
  • Madagascar
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia

National Women’s Team of the Year:

  • Cameroon
  • Ivory Coast
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zambia

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button


Your browser could not load this page, use Chrome browser or disable AdBlock